Hot Legal Issues – The Gig Worker Law

Date: December 10, 2019

Location: Virtual

Appraisal Institute
Appraisal Institute Government Relations
Bill Garber

Continuing Education
Class Time: 2 hours
Exam Hours: N/A



Additional Information

How appraisers are treated and classified under federal labor laws has become a hot legal topic for both appraisers and their employers. Numerous lawsuits have been filed against appraisal firms, lenders, AMCs and other employers, contending that appraisers are not exempt employees and therefore must be paid overtime and receive other protections. A number of these cases have resulted in significant judgments. Some appraisal firms attempt to avoid having to deal with such issues by classifying their appraisers as independent contractors — and many appraisers themselves prefer this arrangement. However, whether classification of an appraiser as a contractor is legally correct for an appraisal firm can be a thorny issue — for both the firm and the contractor appraiser. There are different tests for federal tax purposes, overtime, unemployment insurance, workers compensation and liability. The details of the tests also vary by state. Unfortunately, there is no single standard for determining whether an appraiser is an independent contractor, exempt, or non-exempt employee.

In this live webinar, classification of workers as employees or independent contractors under new California law AB5, a.k.a. "the gig worker law," along with recent litigation and other legislation on worker classification, will be reviewed and analyzed in the context of the appraisal field.  Learn the law and enhance your legal understanding.

Date: December 10, 2019
Time: 10:00 am PT, 11:00 pm MT, 12:00 pm CT, 1:00 pm ET
Duration: 2 hours
  • Peter Christensen, JD, LIA Administrators & Insurance Services, Santa Barbara, California
  • Scott Dibiasio, Manager of State and Industry Affairs, Appraisal Institute

    Moderator: Bill Garber, Director of Government and External Relations, Appraisal Institute

AI CE Credit Only: Appraisal Institute Designated members, Candidates for Designation, and Practicing Affiliates who attend will receive 10 points of Appraisal Institute continuing education credit. This is not approved for state continuing education credit.
Refund/Cancel Information: Up to the program start date, a full refund is available.
Connection  Information: A link to access the webinar is available on your Education and Events page on the day of the event. In addition, several minutes after you register, you will receive a receipt email, and then a second e-mail which includes instructions on how to connect to the webinar. Connection e-mail reminders are sent 3 days, 1 day, and 1 hour prior to webinar start time.
Questions: Please e-mail or call (312) 335-4473 or see FAQs.

National Disclaimer

State Credit

Please note that 100% attendance is required in order to receive any approved state credit or to be awarded AI CE points. It is imperative that you check with your state board for state approval information before completing registration.

Other Information

If you have a disability and require accommodation, please notify the sponsor at least two weeks in advance for reasonable accommodations to be arranged.

The Appraisal Institute reserves the rights to cancel, limit, or reschedule the program and to change instructor assignments and facility locations at any time.