Location: Virtual Classroom, CA
- Southern California Chapter
- Lianna Ayala
- 818-957-5111 (2)
- Virtual Classroom
- Virtual Classroom
Virtual Classroom, CA 00000
- DeSaix, MAI, SRA , Denis
Full Price: $89.00
AI Price: $69.00
Rent Control- A new State Law
In California, rent control has been a local
jurisdiction issue, typically approved by a city’s or county’s voters. Beginning in 2020, there will be a state-wide
rent control ordinance that will cover all jurisdctions not currently affected
by local rent control and can also impact those jurisdictions with existing
rent control ordinances. This is a
significant change that has a direct impact on the evaluation and analysis of
residential (one-unit and multi-unit) rental properties. Denis DeSaix, MAI, SRA, will provide an
overview of the new law and the potential impact it will have in appraising
residential rental properties. Points of
discussion will include:
An overview of the new regulations
What’s exempt and what’s not
How a market with existing rent
control can be affected
Valuing a rent-controlled property
Analyzing Physical Characteristics
vs. Economic Characteristics
Understand the relationship between
GRMs/Cap Rates and Market or Below Market Rents
1-4 unit appraisal impact of rent
control- it does matter!
Whether you are a commercial or residential
appraiser, the new rent control laws will affect your appraisal analysis if the
property is an apartment building, a 2-4 residential income property, and
possibly a SFR or Condominium rental property.
Come join us for this informative presentatoin and be prepared as this
new law takes effect.
Up To 15 days prior to program start date, $15.00
2 - 14 days prior
to program start date, $30.00 cancellation fee.
Less than 2 days
prior to program start date, forfeit of payment.
Zoom Log in information will be emailed out on 11/10/2020
Class starts at 1:00 PM
Zoom log in will be available at 12:30 PM
2 Hours of BREA Pending Approval
Photo Verification: REQUIRED
As part of the required attendance monitoring, all students need to provide the
Chapter Office with a copy of your Driver's License in advance of the
take a picture of your DL with your phone or send a scanned copy to firstname.lastname@example.org
who have not yet forwarded their photo IDs will be ineligible for credit
and will be prohibited from attending the seminar
It is the student's responsibility to have the required equipment
- dependable Internet access, computer, webcam and microphone.
As noted in the material section below, some registrants who opt not to print
out the seminar materials may find a secondary device (Ipad, cell phone, laptop
or desktop computer) helpful during instruction.
- A webcam is required. The instructor and/or session monitor must be
able to see each of the students and verify that they have access to the
seminar materials throughout the presentation. If you do not have a
camera on your computer, they are available at BestBuy and other online
retailers starting at around $30.
must remain on throughout the offering. Those who turn off their
webcams jeopardize receipt of CE credit. No camera = no credit.
the offering with a cell
phone is not recommended as these devices often lead to
connection problems. Cell phones are better utilized solely as a
must be able to see and be seen. They must be able to view the
instructor's PowerPoint, and follow along in handbook all at the same
time, while the instructor sees them.
Enrollment is on a first-come, first served basis. If the
event is filled, a waiting list will be retained. The Southern California
Chapter reserves the rights to cancel, limit, or reschedule this event if the
minimum enrollment level is not reached, and to change faculty assignments and
facility locations at any time. Prospective students should confirm their
registration before making any non-refundable airline reservations. There are
NO transfers; you must cancel out of the offering.
The Appraisal Institute enforces attendance requirements
mandated by state licensing and certification regulatory agencies. The
Appraisal Institute issues certificates for state certification/licensing or
state continuing education credit that verify successful completion and
attendance of 100%, with your grade notification letter for courses, or at the
conclusion of seminars. One hundred percent (100%) attendance is required for
all Appraisal Institute education programs. This follows Appraiser
Qualification Board minimum criteria requirements.
This Educational Program was developed by an outside party. The Appraisal Institute Chapter made arrangements for the Third-Party to offer the Program with the intent of addressing topic(s) based on a certain chapter or local need for such topic, solely educational and informational purposes. The Appraisal Institute national organization was not involved in developing or organizing the Program and does not endorse the Program or its content.
The content of this Program, including but not limited to any written materials and presenter comments, does not represent the viewpoint of the Appraisal Institute (defined as including but not limited to, the national organization, its Regions, Chapters, members, candidates, affiliates and staff) unless formally adopted by the national Board of Directors. Further, the Appraisal Institute has not peer-reviewed or approved the content of the Program and does not warrant the accuracy or timeliness of the content of the Program. The Appraisal Institute does not publish examination review materials. The content of the Program is subject to court decisions and local, state and federal laws and regulations and any such revisions of such laws and regulations.
This Program is presented with the understanding that the Appraisal Institute is not engaged in rendering legal, accounting or other professional advice or services. Nothing in the Program is to be construed as the offering of such advice or services. If expert advice or services are required, attendees and readers are responsible for obtaining such advice or services from appropriate professionals.
Please note that 100% attendance is required in order to receive any approved state credit or to be awarded AI CE points. It is imperative that you check with your state board for state approval information before completing registration.
If you have a disability and require accommodation, please notify the sponsor at least two weeks in advance for reasonable accommodations to be arranged.
The Appraisal Institute reserves the rights to cancel, limit, or reschedule the program and to change instructor assignments and facility locations at any time.