Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs): Valuation Challenges and the Law

Date: October 23, 2020

Location: Virtual Classroom, CA

Southern California Chapter
Lianna Ayala
818-957-5111 (2)
Virtual Classroom
Virtual Classroom
Virtual Classroom, CA 00000
DeSaix, Denis



CLASS STARTS AT: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


It is the student's responsibility to have the required equipment: Internet Access, Computer with Webcam, Microphone and Speakers. The instructor / monitor must be able to see / view students throughout the offering and the students must be able to view the instructor and / or the instructor's presentation.   [Many laptops have the webcam, speakers and microphones built in.]

IMPORTANT: If you are seeking credit for this offering from a state outside of California, check with your state licensing board(s) - before registering - to make sure that they will (1) accept virtual classroom credit, (2) accept from an out-of-state provider. and / or (3) offer reciprocal CEC with the California BREA.

About this Workshop

ACCESSORY DWELLING UNITS (ADUs):  Valuation Challenges and the Law

The lack of affordable housing in many California markets has been a challenge vexing policymakers, local communities, employers and, ultimately, potential homeowners and renters. In 2017, the State of California adopted new development standards which apply to every planning jurisdiction in the state. These new rules effectively allow property owners to construct new or modify existing portions of their homes to incorporate an accessory dwelling unit in all but a few situations. As more and more property owners and developers take advantage of these new laws, appraisers can expect to see more and more single-family assignments that include the need to evaluate the contributory value of an ADU.

•Three Approaches to Value

•State Mandated ADU Regulations

•Cost - Income - Sales

•How Have Things Changed?

•Is there a Difference from Market Value to Sales Price?

•Factors Driving Price and Demand

•Case Studies: When Paired Sales are Scarce

Cancellation Policy

    Up To 15 days prior to program start date, $10.00 cancellation fee.

    2 - 14 days prior to program start date, $15.00 cancellation fee.

    Less than 2 days prior to program start date, forfeit of payment.

Additional Information

Photo Verification: REQUIRED

As part of the required attendance monitoring, all students need to provide the Chapter Office with a copy of your Driver's License in advance of the offering. 

  • Simply take a picture of your DL with your phone or send a scanned copy to
  • Registrants who have not yet forwarded their photo IDs will be ineligible for credit and will be prohibited from attending the seminar

Required Equipment

It is the student's responsibility to have the required equipment - dependable Internet access, computer, webcam and microphone.  As noted in the material section below, some registrants who opt not to print out the seminar materials may find a secondary device (Ipad, cell phone, laptop or desktop computer) helpful during instruction. 

  • A webcam is required.  The instructor and/or session monitor must be able to see each of the students and verify that they have access to the seminar materials throughout the presentation.  If you do not have a camera on your computer, they are available at BestBuy and other online retailers starting at around $30.

  • Webcams must remain on throughout the offering.  Those who turn off their webcams jeopardize receipt of CE credit.  No camera = no credit.

  • Joining the offering with a cell phone is not recommended as these devices often lead to connection problems.  Cell phones are better utilized solely as a secondary devise.

  • Students must be able to see and be seen. They must be able to view the instructor's PowerPoint, and follow along in handbook all at the same time, while the instructor sees them.

Disclaimer Information


Enrollment is on a first-come, first served basis. If the event is filled, a waiting list will be retained. The Southern California Chapter reserves the rights to cancel, limit, or reschedule this event if the minimum enrollment level is not reached, and to change faculty assignments and facility locations at any time. Prospective students should confirm their registration before making any non-refundable airline reservations. There are NO transfers; you must cancel out of the offering.


The Appraisal Institute enforces attendance requirements mandated by state licensing and certification regulatory agencies. The Appraisal Institute issues certificates for state certification/licensing or state continuing education credit that verify successful completion and attendance of 100%, with your grade notification letter for courses, or at the conclusion of seminars. One hundred percent (100%) attendance is required for all Appraisal Institute education programs. This follows Appraiser Qualification Board minimum criteria requirements.

National Disclaimer

This Educational Program was developed and organized by the Appraisal Institute Chapter offering the Program with the intent of addressing topic(s) of current local interest solely for educational and informational purposes. The Appraisal Institute national organization was not involved in developing or organizing the Program.

The content of this Program, including but not limited to any written materials and presenter comments, does not represent the viewpoint of the Appraisal Institute (defined as including but not limited to, the national organization, its Regions, Chapters, members, candidates, affiliates and staff) unless formally adopted by the national Board of Directors. Further, the Appraisal Institute has not peer-reviewed or approved the content of the Program and does not warrant the accuracy or timeliness of the content of the Program. The content of the Program is subject to court decisions and local, state and federal laws and regulations and any such revisions of such laws and regulations.

This Program is presented with the understanding that the Appraisal Institute is not engaged in rendering legal, accounting or other professional advice or services. Nothing in the Program is to be construed as the offering of such advice or services. If expert advice or services are required, attendees and readers are responsible for obtaining such advice or services from appropriate professionals.

State Credit

Please note that 100% attendance is required in order to receive any approved state credit or to be awarded AI CE points. It is imperative that you check with your state board for state approval information before completing registration.

Other Information

If you have a disability and require accommodation, please notify the sponsor at least two weeks in advance for reasonable accommodations to be arranged.

The Appraisal Institute reserves the rights to cancel, limit, or reschedule the program and to change instructor assignments and facility locations at any time.